Widowspeak announces new album and shares video for debut single “Everything Is Simple”

Widowspeak announces new album and shares video for debut single “Everything Is Simple”

Jacket Expected release in March

04 January 2022

Photography by Alexa Viscius

Bookmark and Share

Folk-rock group Widowspeak has announced the release of a new album, Jacket, which is slated for release in March. They also shared a video for the first single from the album “Everything Is Simple”. Watch the video made by OTIUM and check out the songlist and album art below.

The group said in a press release: “At the start of something (a relationship, a project, a job, a new place) you have this very pure feeling towards it. Everything seems less complicated because you are fully geared towards this potential. It’s undefined, and that makes it easier to understand because you can’t see the issues yet. As time goes on you learn more, you experience more, and you see where the limitations exist: not necessarily even those imposed on you, but where you draw your own lines. Maybe you can’t see what was holding you back until it was in the past, and at that point, other people’s perspectives contradict yours. Everyone builds their own version of reality. The song was originally intended to fuel the imaginary group’s drama, but it is also about our own group. I was thinking about how I am an inherently unreliable storyteller about my own life, and at the same time maybe there are no “real” stories.

Director OTIUM adds that the video is “centered around the idea of ​​trying, knowing that even if things turn out differently than you want them to, the act itself is what you strive to accomplish.”

Widowspeak’s previous album, Plum, was released in August 2020 via Captured Tracks. It featured the album title track (which was one of our songs of the week), “Money”, “Breadwinner” (which was also one of our songs of the week) and “Even True Love” (another of our songs of the week).

Jacket List of tracks:

1. While you are waiting
2. Everything is simple
3. Salt
4. True blue
5. The jacket
6. Relax
7. The reader
8. Slow dance
9. Forget it
10. Sleeper

Support Under the radar on Patreon.

Comments are closed.