Tuareg group Imarhan recruits Gruff Rhys for a new single (listen)

Tuareg Quintet Imarhan are preparing the release of their third album, Aboogi, on January 28 via City Slang. (Abooji is also the name of their studio in the Tamanrasset region.) The record features a number of collaborations, including super furry animals leader Gruff Rhys on “Adar Newlan”. It’s a sublime fusion of styles, voices and languages ​​that really takes off.

Gruff and Imarhan met at one of Damon Albarn’s Africa Express shows in London. “My time in Aboogi with Imarhan was unforgettable,” says Gruff. “We hid from the sun and drank strong hot tea in the orange tent in the outside studio compound and exchanged musical ideas. New friends singing in several languages; Tamasheq, Welsh, French, L English, Arabic floated on the airwaves from the studio door to the courtyard. The songs seemed to flow and grow quickly and effortlessly in these conditions. Where the city meets the mountains, and where you can glimpse both worlds, capped by the ceiling of their gigantic sky – without barely moving your head.“

“Adar Newlan” is an animated video directed by Hugo and Rodolphe Jouxtel from Fantômes, and you can watch it below.

Aboogi also features a Sudanese singer Sulafa Elyas and Tinariwenit is Abdallah Ag Alhousseyni. Check out the artwork, track listing, and some other songs from the album below.

Imarhan also has European tour dates this spring. Their full schedule is listed below.

List of tracks:
1. Achinkad
2.Derran
3. Temet
4. Tinjatan
5. Asof
6. Assosam
7. Taghadart
8. Laouni
9. Imaslan N’Assouf
10. Tamiditine
11. Adar Newlan

Imarhan – 2022 Tour Dates
Wed, March 9, 2022 – Rennes, FR @ L’Aire Libre Theater
Thu, March 10, 2022 – Tourcoing, FR @ Grand Mix
Sat, Mar 12, 2022 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store
Sun. March 13, 2022 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Mon Mar 14, 2022 – Manchester, UK @ YES (Pink Room)
Tue 15 March 2022 – Bristol, UK @ Exchange
Thu, March 17, 2022 – London, UK @ The Dome
Fri, March 18, 2022 – Ghent, BE @ De Centrale
Sat, Mar 19, 2022 – Haarlem, NL @ Patronaat
Sun. March 20, 2022 – Brussels, BE @ AB-club
Mon Mar 21, 2022 – Den Haag, NL @ Paard
Wed, Mar 23, 2022 – Copenhagen, DK @ Alice
Thu, March 24, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus
Fri, March 25, 2022 – Erfurt, DE @ Franz Mehlhose
Sun. March 27, 2022 – Geneva, CH @ PTR L’Usine
Tue. March 29, 2022 – Lyon, FR @ Ninkasi
Wed, March 30, 2022 – Paris, FR @ La Gaité Lyrique
Thu, March 31, 2022 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106 Club
Fri. April 1, 2022 – Orléans, FR @ Astrolobe
Sat. April 2, 2022 – Toulouse, FR @ Le Connexion
Mon. April 4, 2022 – Valencia, ES @ 16 Toneladas
Tue, April 5, 2022 – Madrid, ES @ Clamores
Thu, April 7, 2022 – Braga, PT @ Teatro Circo
Fri. April 8, 2022 – Lisbon, PT @ Music Box
Sat. April 9, 2022 – Sevilla, ES @ Sala X
Sun. April 10, 2022 – Alicante, ES @ Alacant
Mon. April 11, 2022 – Barcelona, ​​ES @ La Nau
Tu es. April 12, 2022 – Istres, FR @ L’Usine

Comments are closed.