Big Thief announces new album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You’, shares new song

big thief revealed in an interview with MOJO in October they’ll be releasing a 20-song double album in 2022, and today they officially announced it. It’s called Dragon New Warm Mountain I believe in you and due February 11 via 4AD (pre-order).

As mentioned in this interview, the album was written while the band was in quarantine for two weeks at a Vermont woodland house in July 2020, and it was recorded at Sam Evian’s Flying Cloud studio in northern England. ‘New York State at Jonathan Dixon’s Five Star Studio in California. with engineer Shawn Everett (The War On Drugs, The Killers, etc), Colorado’s Studio in The Clouds with engineer Dom Monks (Nick Cave, Laura Marling) and Tucson, Arizona’s Press On with engineer Scott McMicken (from Dr Dog) and Frequent Big Thief Contributor Mat Davidson (of Twain) on steel pedal and violin. Big Thief drummer James Krivchenia produced.

The album features the band’s four recently released singles (“Change”, “Little Things”, “Sparrow” and “Certainty”), as well as the barely “Time Escaping”. The song was made with prepped acoustic guitars and a heavily percussive backdrop, and it’s unlike anything Big Thief has ever released. It’s a very cool thing, and you can hear it for yourself below.

As mentioned, Big Thief will be touring North America in 2022, including big shows in Brooklyn at Kings Theater April 15-16 with a special opening guest TBA (tickets). All dates are listed below.

List of tracks
1. Change
2. The time that escapes
3. Spud Infinity
4. Certainty
5. Dragon New Warm Mountain I believe in you
6. Sparrow
7. Small things
8. Heavy curve
9. Blood flower
10. Blurred view
11a Red Moon
12. Dried roses
13. No reason
14. Wake me up to drive
15. The promise is a pendulum
16. 12,000 lines
17. Simulation swarm
18. Love Love Love
19. The only place
20. Blue Lightning

Big Thief – Tour Dates 2022
Mon. January 31, 2022 – Lille, FR @ The Aircraft
Tue February 1, 2022 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale
Fri Feb 4, 2022 – Bordeaux, FR @ Rock School Barbey
Sat February 5, 2022 – Barcelona, ​​ES @ Sala Apolo
Mon February 7, 2022 – Lyon, FR @ Le Transbordeur
Tue February 8, 2022 – Strasbourg, FR @ La Laiterie Artefact
Wed February 9, 2022 – Zurich, CH @ Kaufleuten
Thu February 10, 2022 – Munich, DE @ Cafe Muffathalle
Sat February 12, 2022 – Prague, CZ @ MeetFactory
Sun. February 13, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Huxleys Neue Welt
Mon February 14, 2022 – Aarhus, DK @ Voxhall
Tue February 15, 2022 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA
Wed Feb 16, 2022 – Hamburg, DE @ Fabrik
Fri February 18, 2022 – Cologne, DE @ Live Music Hall
Sat February 19, 2022 – Brussels, BE @ Cirque Royal
Mon February 21, 2022 – Utrecht, Netherlands @ TivoliVredenburg
Tue February 22, 2022 – Groningen, The Netherlands @ De Oosterpoort
Thu Feb 24, 2022 – Manchester, GB @ Manchester Academy 1
Fri February 25, 2022 – Glasgow, GB @ Barrowland Ballroom
Sat February 26, 2022 – Dublin, IE @ The National Stadium
Sun. February 27, 2022 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy Bristol
Wed Mar 2, 2022 – London, GB @ 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Thu Mar 3, 2022 – London, GB @ 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Fri Mar 4, 2022 – London, GB @ 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire – SOLD OUT
Tue April 12, 2022 – Ithaca, NY @ State Theater of Ithaca
Wed April 13, 2022 – Boston, MA @ Roadrunner
Fri April 15, 2022 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theater
Sat April 16, 2022 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theater
Mon April 18, 2022 – Montreal, QUE @ L’Olympia
Tue April 19, 2022 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
Thu, April 21, 2022 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Fri April 22, 2022 – Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theater
Sat April 23, 2022 – Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theater
Mon April 25, 2022 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theater
Tue April 26, 2022 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Pabst Theater
Wed, April 27, 2022 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theater
Fri April 29, 2022 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theater
Sat April 30, 2022 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro Music Hall
Mon May 2, 2022 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theater
Tue May 3, 2022 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
Wed May 4, 2022 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
Sat May 07, 2022 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater
Tue May 10, 2022 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern Theater
Wed May 11, 2022 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern Theater
Fri May 12, 2022 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park
Sat May 14, 2022 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s – SOLD OUT
Sun. May 15, 2022 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s
Thu June 9, 2022 – Barcelona, ​​ES @ Primavera Sound 2022
Sun. June 12, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Tempelhof Sounds

Comments are closed.